Tuesday 19 June 2018 - 11:49

Quick-Step Floors Cycling Team to the National Championships

Quick-Step Floors Cycling Team to the National Championships

Twenty-one of the squad's 28 riders will be in action between June 21 and July 1.

Since 2003, Quick-Step Floors has won a total of 43 National Championships with 23 different riders across 16 countries from three continents. Most recent titles came last year, when Yves Lampaert took a maiden win in the Belgian Time Trial, while Bob Jungels and Zdenek Stybar soloed to victory in Luxembourg and the Czech Republic, respectively. The three will try to defend their titles over the next two weeks, when almost all of our riders will line up for the National Championships, which more or less kick off the second part of the season.

Sports director Tom Steels, who during his heyday has won four National Road Race Championships, an all-time record for a Belgian rider, made a preview of the upcoming events.

"It's one of the most beautiful and important moments of the year, with the riders spread across eight countries, vying for nice results and glory. We've always been a factor at the Nationals and this year we hope it won't be any different. Our riders are in good form – we could see that in the Dauphiné, Tour de Suisse and the one-day races we've done since the beginning of the month – and have the hunger and motivation to be in the thick of the action and give their very best."

"Of course, it's no secret that the Belgian Championships are very important for us. Yves is the reigning champion and looking at the route it should suit him. He proved in Suisse the condition is there, so everything comes down to how he's feeling on Thursday. The level of the top riders is close and it will be a great fight, but if he has the freshness and performs at his best, he has a good chance of replicating last season's result."

"The road race will be a hard one with a demanding, typical Belgian course, with some hard parts and cobblestone sectors. The finish is quite challenging too, as we know it from Binche. Our riders' form is on point, but it won't be easy to take home the tricolour. We have to be ready from kilometer zero, keep a sharp eye on things and be present where the action happens", Tom Steels concluded.


ITT (June 21): Vichte – Vichte (43.2km)

Riders: Laurens De Plus, Yves Lampaert.

Road Race (June 24): Binche – Binche (223.6km)

Riders: Laurens De Plus, Tim Declercq, Dries Devenyns, Philippe Gilbert, Iljo Keisse, Yves Lampaert, Pieter Serry.

Czech Republic

ITT (June 21): Karlovy Vary – Karlovy Vary (40.4km)

Riders: Zdenek Stybar.

Road Race (June 24): Plzen – Plzen (195.6km)

Riders: Zdenek Stybar.


ITT (June 28): Nykøbing Falster – Nykøbing Falster (39.8km)

Riders: Kasper Asgreen.

Road Race (July 1): Stubbekøbing – Nysted (217.5km)

Riders: Kasper Asgreen, Michael Mørkøv.


ITT (June 28): Mantes-la-Jolie – Mantes-la-Jolie (45.5km)

Riders: Rémi Cavagna.

Road Race (July 1): Mantes-la-Jolie – Mantes-la-Jolie (253km)

Riders: Julian Alaphilippe, Rémi Cavagna, Florian Sénéchal.


ITT (June 29): Einhausen – Einhausen (43.9km)

Riders: Maximilian Schachmann.

Road Race (July 1): Einhausen – Einhausen (229.1km)

Riders: Maximilian Schachmann.


Road Race (June 30): Darfo Boario – Darfo Boario (234km)

Riders: Eros Capecchi, Davide Martinelli, Fabio Sabatini, Elia Viviani.











ITT (June 28): Redange – Redange (23.8km)

Riders: Bob Jungels.

Road Race (July 1): Redange – Redange (158km).

Riders: Bob Jungels.

The Netherlands

ITT (June 27): Bergen op Zoom – Bergen op Zoom (52.3km)

Riders: Niki Terpstra.

Road Race (July 1): Nispen – Hoogerheide (226.4km)

Riders: Fabio Jakobsen, Niki Terpstra.


Photo credit: ©Tim De Waele/ Getty Images